Review: Cover Me by Catherine Mann

 It should have been a simple mission…
Pararescueman Wade Rocha fast ropes from the back of a helicopter into a blizzard to save a climber stranded on an Aleutian Island, but Sunny Foster insists she can take care of herself just fine…
But when it comes to passion, nothing is ever simple…
With the snowstorm kicking into overdrive, Sunny and Wade hunker down in a cave and barely resist the urge to keep each other warm… until they discover the frozen remains of a horrific crime… Unable to trust the local police force, Sunny and Wade investigate, while their irresistible passion for each other gets them more and more dangerously entangled…

Cover Me is the first book in the series featuring a group of sexy pararescuemen, or PJ’s for short. Wade Rocha is hot enough to melt the ice and snow he’s surrounded by in this story and, the passion between he and Sunny is enough to melt all the snow in Alaska. The story begins with these complete strangers being thrown together by Wade needing to “rescue” Sunny but soon learns that Sunny is far from a shrinking flower in need of rescuing. As the story unfolds Wade sees why Sunny is so protective of her family. She’s one tough broad and that is something that I really liked about her. She is able to take care of herself.He’s surprised by it and instantly turned on. Although,  I don’t know if I’d be able to eat as much granola as she did. I’d probably want to add chocolate to it like Wade wanted to. Sunny and Wade’s chemistry was incredible. It was a very love at first sight type of thing(which is a bit of a theme in this series, but I won’t say anymore because I don’t want to give anything away) and I really liked it. Those kinds of emotions are very realistic, especially when two people deny it, like the Sunny and Wade did at first, and it made the story that much more enjoyable. I lost myself many times in this well told story and relationship, forgetting I was reading a book. I felt like I was more of a fly on the wall watching this play out.

How do I describe Wade? Smart, sexy as hell and one hell of sweet tooth, all the things I love about a hero. Wade is also full of relaxed intensity. That sounds like an oxymoron, I know, but it’s not. Wade is very intense about his job and but he’s also relaxed in his personality, perhaps to balance out the intensity. Intensity is really the only word to describe Wade. He’s intense toward his job, his past, and his attraction toward Sunny. In all aspects he is intense but he’s not bitter about it or hard. He’s quite the opposite, he’s very easy to like, which can be said of all of Mann’s heroes.  His relationship with Hugh awesome, too. You really see how such a rare job can bring people together and create such a bond.

This transitions into Wade’s relationship with Sunny. I loved the instant attraction between them. It was believable and made me cheer for them the entire time I was reading it. The love scenes were also hot as hell, and yes, that’s a technical term. All of the characters were really well fleshed out and I could see them so clearly in my head, but Mann has a knack for giving excellent visuals, whether it’s describing someone’s facial features, or the scenery surrounding them. The plot was fast paced but also filled with loads of detail. I didn’t feel like I was being left behind trying to figure out what was going on as the action kept going.

Mann’s descriptions of the ice and snow and the chilly conditions had me hunting for a pair of socks to keep my feet warm.

This was definitely a Keeper Shelf book.

*On a sidenote, I’ve been reading Cathy’s books since 2002 and I could really see the growth in her writing and her style reflected in this book(as well as book two in the series but that’s a different post). I’m seriously proud of my friend.

Please visit her website http://www.catherinemann.com to check out her other works.

Leave a Reply

